The Rules Of Five (A Poem) (First Post-Betrayal Poem)

Everyone says five steps of grieving

and I guess I’m on step one

Denial.

It’s just so much

to take in

so little

air

it seems I can’t breathe

who would believe that the air

was taken from the planet

at the time of a

seemingly

life-shattering moment

in

the life of a teenage girl

Oh,

how they wouldn’t believe it

But I can’t deny

that somehow

the air I’ve breathed for

sixteen

years

has perished

by the sound of your name

next to the burning of betrayal

with a taste like rust

I can’t swallow this

How can I believe that you did this?

That you have betrayed me?

Have you lost my heart too?

“Misplaced” it?

I don’t think I can get a replica…

Got to ask my doctor….

But I know that

There are five words to describe how I feel

The denial I feel

And they are:

But

Shit

Love

You

These are the rules of five

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑